Have you ever tried to learn Astrology?

There are many questions to consider when asking how to learn Astrology. As a newbie, the mass of informatiopn out there can seem a bit overwhelming.

Perhaps you’ve tried and been put off by all the jargon and ‘secret’ language of the Cosmos.Then there’s the professional Astrologers who tell you that it’s a lifetimes work – or the work of several lifetimes.

How do we even begin and what are the main factors to look for?

There are many good astrology courses for beginners out there. Many are free. Add to this the many books, websites, podcasts available now, but learning the basics is easy.

I always advise people to check out the free resources first. For example, before investing in software, head over to www.astro.com, enter your birth details and grab your free chart. There’s even an interactive natal chart for beginners where, if you hover over your planetary placements, you get a free interpretation of what they mean.

So, what are the basics of the astrological chart?

When you look at a natal chart, you need to know 3 main things: The Houses, The Planets, The Signs

1. The Houses

If you look at the above chart, you can see that it is divided into 12 sections. Each of these is given a number which you can see at the center of the wheel.

So, as on the above, the first house represents Self, the second our possessions and self worth, the 3rd communication etc.

The houses represent the area of your life action takes place.

2. The Planets

Heres a video from one of my courses



Each planet represents a different energy. In psychology terms, they are considered your “needs” or “drives”.

In astrology, the planets are divided into three categories: personal planets, social planets, and outer planets. The personal planets are the Sun, the Moon, Mercury, Venus, and Mars. The social planets are Jupiter and Saturn. They are seen as a transition between the personal planets and the outer planets. The outer planets are Uranus, Neptune, and Pluto. They travel slowly through the zodiac, affecting us on a personal and collective level.

The Sun

Rules: Leo

Psychology: “I am”

The Sun is the most important planet in your chart. It is your ego, your motivation, your interests, your basic likes and dislikes, your vitality, and how you express and identify yourself. The Sun is connected to the divine Masculine

The Moon

Rules: Cancer

Psychology: “I feel”

The Moon governs your emotional radar – how you receive and emit emotion. It represents your intuition, your instinctual responses, your habits, your subconscious mind and what makes you feel comfortable and secure. The Moon is associated with your mother, your home and family, your childhood.The Moon governs the emotions you try to keep hidden from others, such as jealousy, anger and fear.


Rules: Gemini and Virgo

Psychology: “I think”

Mercury is about your communication style, how you think, how you solve problems, how you learn and what you’re curious about.Because of its close proximity to the Sun, Mercury is found in the same as your Sign sign or the sign after your Sun sign.


Rules: Taurus and Libra

Psychology: “I desire”

Venus governs our desire nature. The Goddess of love, arts, beauty (and finances!) rules not only our romantic relationships, but who you we attract and, for men, who we’re attracted to. Venus is a planet of luck and good fortune, but not as much as Jupiter. It is always found in the same sign as your Sun, or the two signs directly before or after.


Rules: Aries

Psychology: “I act”

Mars is about your mojo, your motivation, your initiative, your aggression, your confidence, your inner drive, your physical strength and stamina. He represents what you want to achieve, where you put your energy, and how much of a risk-taker you are. Mars is what gets you up and going every day. It is how you express your anger. It’s also your sex drive, and what you desire for and give in a sexual relationship.


Rules: Sagittarius

Psychology: “I grow”

Jupiter rules your ethics, your philosophy about life, where you’re lucky, where you’re abundant, optimistic. He also governs religious belief, what you want to learn and how you can benefit from that knowledge. Jupiter expands whatever it touches. He shows where you receive financial benefit and how generous you are with others


Rules: Capricorn

Psychology: “I achieve”

Saturn describes your ambition in life, your major life lessons, and your feelings of inadequacy. Saturn is about restrictions, limitations, boundaries, safety, and practicality. It’s about hard work and getting what you deserve.Saturn is the planet overseeing your career, business, and wealth. He shows longevity (Saturn also rules time), what you want to be known for and what you want to achieve.


Rules: Aquarius

Psychology: “I evolve”

Uranus governs where you seek freedom, where you’re unconventional, where you stand out, what makes you rebel, where you do the unexpected. Uranus is about sudden change, such as an unexpected opportunity. It also involves events that happen like a lightning bolt out of the blue, such as accidents or love at first sight. Uranus also involves intuition in the form of those times when you just know something or have an “aha” moment.


Rules: Pisces

Psychology: “I dream”

Neptune governs what inspires you and where you’re easily deceived. It’s about illusion, confusion, imagination, creativity and dreams. Because of his illusory nature, he also governs escapism – through drugs, alcohol and sex, our addictions.


Rules: Scorpio

Psychology: “I empower”

Pluto represents how you use power – where you feel powerful and powerless. He is a major planet of transition and change, so shows us where we need to make changes in our life. He shows the  the big events in your life, and what we have to let go to make way for the new.

When you’re starting out and wondering how to learn astrology, the first thing to look at is which house your Moon and Sun are in. These two luminaries show where your emotional focus is (The Moon) and your main drive and focus in life (The Sun)

 Part 2 of ‘How To learn Astrology’ will be released soon. Then we’ll start to look at the signs and aspects.